Flourless Chocolate Cake (plus almond-cream-cheese-icing)

4 Jan

So, it’s not secret I despise cream cheese. The smell, the taste, and the texture.

For reals.

But today, I chose to embrace those fears (and a love of chocolate).

My day began lazily, a bowl of mini wheats, and an episode of the Bachelor.

Then, I got down to business.

 

I surfed around the web for food creation inspiration, and since we were all out of flour, flourless pastries were my baked good of choice.

I settled on a recipe and decided to alter it to fit my needs.

 

Here’s my recipe:
1 cup (220 g) sugar

3/4 cup Ghirardelli Dark/SemiSweet Chocolate Chips

1 Cup butter

4 eggs, separated

 

And here’s what I did:

 

First, you want to melt the butter & chocolate in a double boiler. While you do this, feel free to take a sample. Also, I should let you know that I’m not quit sure how much chocolate I used, I just poured about a third of a 10 oz bag in, maybe more.

Now, I also only did half this recipe, because I only had two eggs, but this is what I had been planning on.

 

Then, you want to cream the sugar and the egg YOLKS together in a bowl. I used an electric mixer, it worked loverly-ly.

 

Once I did this, I poured in the chocolate and mixed. YUM! YUM!

Then, I took the egg whites and beat those separately to form stiff peaks, and folded this into the other mixture.

 

Then, I greased a pan and poured it all in.

 

I baked this for 20-25 minutes, but it might need as much as 30-35. Just stick a fork in and see if it comes out clean!

 

Now, on to the frosting.

 

To be honest, the cake didn’t need anything but vanilla ice cream or whipped cream. Unfortunately, I was in a cooking mood, and just wanted to make some. Oh, and I wanted to get rid of the cream cheese left over from when my parents had some people over and smoke salmon was one of the appetizers. They put out capers, onions, pumpernickel bread, and some cream cheese, but I don’t think anyone touched the squishy white stuff.

Smart People.

 

The recipe I used for frosting can be found here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cream-cheese-frosting-ii-2/

I did half of the recipe, and instead of vanilla extract, I used almond. Simple, eh?

 

Good Luck & happy eating/cooking!

 

 

Oh, btw, there will be a second post up tonight because I start school tomorrow and want to make sure I have some stuff up. Cheers, chefs!

Leave a comment